Core Faculty

Michael Bailey | Professor

Michael Bailey
  • Program Area(s):  Clinical; Personality and Health
  • Interest(s): Sexual orientation and evolutionary psychology
  • Phone: 847-491-7429
  • Office Location: Swift 303B
  • E-mail: jm-bailey@northwestern.edu

Mark Beeman | Professor; Department Chair

Mark Beeman
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive; Brain, Behavior and Cognition
  • Interest(s): Brain bases of language; creative thinking
  • Phone: 847-491-4617
  • Office Location: Cresap 104
  • E-mail: mbeeman@northwestern.edu

Galen Bodenhausen | Professor

Galen Bodenhausen
  • Program Area(s):  Social
  • Interest(s): Attitudes and social cognition; diversity
  • Phone: 847-467-3887
  • Office Location: Swift 204
  • E-mail: galen@northwestern.edu

Sara Broaders | Director of Undergraduate Studies; Professor of Instruction

Sara Broaders
  • Interest(s): Gesture in cognition and communication
  • Phone: 847-491-3652
  • Office Location: Swift 242
  • E-mail: s-broaders@northwestern.edu

Edith Chen | Professor; Director of Graduate Studies

Edith Chen
  • Program Area(s):  Personality and Health
  • Interest(s): Health psychology; socioeconomic status and health
  • Phone: 847-467-0366
  • Office Location: Swift 104A
  • E-mail: edith.chen@northwestern.edu

Mesmin Destin | Associate Professor

Mesmin Destin
  • Program Area(s):  Social
  • Interest(s): Socioeconomic status; educational motivation
  • Phone: 847-467-2824
  • Office Location: Annenberg 203
  • E-mail: m-destin@northwestern.edu

Alice Eagly | Professor

Alice Eagly
  • Program Area(s):  Social
  • Interest(s): Gender, leadership, stereotyping; attitudes
  • Phone: 847-467-5026
  • Office Location: Swift 313
  • E-mail: eagly@northwestern.edu

Renee Engeln | Professor of Instruction

Renee Engeln

Eli Finkel | Professor

Eli Finkel
  • Program Area(s):  Social
  • Interest(s): (1) Interpersonal attraction, (2) goals ↔ relationships, (3) marriage, and (4) conflict resolution
  • Phone: 847-491-3212
  • Office Location: Swift 116
  • E-mail: finkel@northwestern.edu

Steven Franconeri | Professor

Steven Franconeri
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Visual Cognition; Data Visualization; Visuospatial Thinking in STEM (Science, Technology, Education, & Math); Graph Comprehension; Visual Communication; Effective communication of analyses and evidence.
  • Phone: 847-467-1259
  • Office Location: Swift 317
  • E-mail: franconeri@northwestern.edu

Wendi Gardner | Associate Professor

Wendi Gardner
  • Program Area(s):  Social
  • Interest(s): The social self; belonging; emotion
  • Phone: 847-491-4972
  • Office Location: Swift 203
  • E-mail: wgardner@northwestern.edu

Dedre Gentner | Professor

Dedre Gentner
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Language, cognition, space, & learning
  • Phone: 847-467-1272
  • Office Location: Swift 213
  • E-mail: gentner@northwestern.edu

Benjamin Gorvine | Associate Professor of Instruction; Assistant Chair; Lead Adviser

Benjamin Gorvine
  • Interest(s): Pedagogy practices for psychology and statistics; fathers; children’s social development
  • Phone: 847-467-1839
  • Office Location: Swift 306
  • E-mail: b-gorvine@northwestern.edu

Marcia Grabowecky | Research Associate Professor; Adjunct Lecturer

Marcia Grabowecky
  • Program Area(s):  Brain, Behavior and Cognition
  • Interest(s): Visual perception and attention
  • Phone: 847-467-3044
  • Office Location: Cresap 306
  • E-mail: grabowecky@northwestern.edu

Caterina Gratton | Assistant Professor

Caterina Gratton
  • Program Area(s):  Brain, Behavior and Cognition

Susan Hespos | Professor

Susan Hespos
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Cognitive development, learning, language and concepts
  • Phone: 847-467-1394
  • Office Location: Swift 212
  • E-mail: hespos@northwestern.edu

Sid Horton | Associate Professor; Director of Cognitive Psychology

Sid Horton
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Psycholinguistics; Spoken discourse and aging
  • Phone: 847-467-1293
  • Office Location: Swift 217
  • E-mail: whorton@northwestern.edu

Dan McAdams | Professor

Dan McAdams
  • Program Area(s):  Clinical; Personality and Health
  • Interest(s): Adult personality, life stories, culture
  • Phone: 847-491-4174
  • Office Location: Annenberg 209
  • E-mail: dmca@northwestern.edu

Douglas Medin | Professor

Douglas Medin
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Culture and cognition; decision making
  • Phone: 847-467-1660
  • Office Location: Swift 222
  • E-mail: medin@northwestern.edu

Greg Miller | Professor

Greg Miller
  • Program Area(s):  Personality and Health
  • Interest(s): Health psychology; mechanisms linking stress and health
  • Phone: 847-467-5755
  • Office Location: Swift 104B
  • E-mail: greg.miller@northwestern.edu

Susan Mineka | Professor

Susan Mineka
  • Program Area(s):  Clinical
  • Interest(s): The origins of anxiety and mood disorders
  • Phone: 847-491-7711
  • Office Location: Swift 316
  • E-mail: mineka@northwestern.edu

Vijay Mittal | Assistant Professor

Vijay Mittal
  • Program Area(s):  Clinical
  • Interest(s): Schizophrenia; prodrome; early psychosis; adolescence; brain and hormone development; motor function; emotion; cognition
  • Phone: 847-467-3880
  • Office Location: Swift 242
  • E-mail: vijay.mittal@northwestern.edu

Daniel Molden | Associate Professor; Director of Social Psychology

Daniel Molden
  • Program Area(s):  Social
  • Interest(s): The role of motivation in social cognition
  • Phone: 847-491-7710
  • Office Location: Swift 202
  • E-mail: molden@northwestern.edu

Dan Mroczek | Professor; Director of Personality and Health

Dan Mroczek
  • Program Area(s):  Clinical; Personality and Health
  • Interest(s): Lifespan personality development; influence of pesonality
  • Phone: 847-467-0915
  • Office Location: Hogan 2123
  • E-mail: daniel.mroczek@northwestern.edu

Robin Nusslock | Associate Professor

Robin Nusslock
  • Program Area(s):  Brain, Behavior and Cognition; Clinical
  • Interest(s): Affective & clinical neuroscience; mood and anxiety disorders
  • Phone: 847-467-4148
  • Office Location: Swift 301
  • E-mail: nusslock@northwestern.edu

Ken Paller | Professor

Ken Paller
  • Program Area(s):  Brain, Behavior and Cognition; Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Human memory; awareness; memory disorders
  • Phone: 847-467-3370
  • Office Location: Cresap 210
  • E-mail: kap@northwestern.edu

Ginger Pennington | Assistant Professor of Instruction

Ginger Pennington

Sylvia Perry | Assistant Professor

Sylvia Perry
  • Program Area(s):  Social; Personality and Health
  • Interest(s):  Stereotyping and prejudice; intergroup relations; social cognition
  • Office Location: Swift 227
  • E-mail: sylvia.perry@northwestern.edu

David Rapp | Professor

David Rapp
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Reading comprehension; learning and memory
  • Phone: 847-467-1871
  • Office Location: Annenberg 220
  • E-mail: rapp@northwestern.edu

Paul Reber | Professor; Director of Brain, Behavior, & Cognition

Paul Reber
  • Program Area(s):  Brain, Behavior and Cognition; Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Learning & memory systems of the brain; fMRI
  • Phone: 847-467-1624
  • Office Location: Cresap 308
  • E-mail: preber@northwestern.edu

William Revelle | Professor

William Revelle
  • Program Area(s):  Personality and Health; Clinical
  • Interest(s): Personality measurement, theory and research
  • Phone: 847-491-7700
  • Office Location: Swift 315
  • E-mail: revelle@northwestern.edu

Lance Rips | Professor

Lance Rips
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Reasoning, concepts, math, and memory
  • Phone: 847-491-5947
  • Office Location: Swift 314
  • E-mail: rips@northwestern.edu

Onnie Rogers | Assistant Professor

Onnie Rogers
  • Program Area(s):  Personality and Health; Social
  • Interest(s): Identity; child and adolescent development; race/ethnicity and gender stereotypes
  • Office Location: Swift 226
  • E-mail: onnie.rogers@northwestern.edu

Peter Rosenfeld | Professor

Peter Rosenfeld
  • Program Area(s):  Brain, Behavior and Cognition
  • Interest(s): Applied cognitive psychophysiology, deception, detection of concealed memory and information, memory suppression
  • Phone: 847-491-3629
  • Office Location: Cresap 206
  • E-mail: jp-rosenfeld@northwestern.edu

David Smith | Distinguished Senior Lecturer

David Smith
  • Interest(s): Assessment and evaluation; decision making
  • Phone: 847-491-4669
  • Office Location: Swift 303C
  • E-mail: hdsmith@northwestern.edu

Satoru Suzuki | Professor

Satoru Suzuki
  • Program Area(s):  Brain, Behavior and Cognition; Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Vision; cross-modal interactions; awareness
  • Phone: 847-467-1271
  • Office Location: Cresap 303
  • E-mail: satoru@northwestern.edu

Jennifer Tackett | Associate Professor; Director of Clinical Psychology

Jennifer Tackett
  • Program Area(s):  Clinical; Personality and Health
  • Interest(s): Externalizing and disinhibitory psychopathology in youth; genetic and hormonal influences on externalizing problems; youth personality; gender and racial/ethnic disparities in externalizing problems
  • Phone: 847-467-3313
  • Office Location: Swift 312
  • E-mail: jennifer.tackett@northwestern.edu

David Uttal | Professor

David Uttal
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Cognitive development; space; symbols
  • Phone: 847-467-1925
  • Office Location: Swift 303A
  • E-mail: duttal@northwestern.edu

Sandra Waxman | Professor

Sandra Waxman
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Language and conceptual development in infants and children; Cognitive development across languages and cultures
  • Phone: 847-467-2293
  • Office Location: Swift 211
  • E-mail: s-waxman@northwestern.edu

Richard Zinbarg | Professor

Richard Zinbarg
  • Program Area(s):  Personality and Health; Clinical
  • Interest(s): Anxiety and its treatment; measurement theory
  • Phone: 847-467-2290
  • Office Location: Swift 302
  • E-mail: rzinbarg@northwestern.edu