Cognitive Faculty

Mark Beeman | Professor

Mark Beeman
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive; Brain, Behavior and Cognition
  • Interest(s): Brain bases of language; creative thinking
  • Phone: 847-491-4617
  • Office Location: Cresap 104
  • E-mail: mbeeman@northwestern.edu

Steven Franconeri | Associate Professor

Steven Franconeri
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Visual Cognition
  • Phone: 847-467-1259
  • Office Location: Swift 317
  • E-mail: franconeri@northwestern.edu

Dedre Gentner | Professor

Dedre Gentner
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Language, cognition, space, & learning
  • Phone: 847-467-1272
  • Office Location: Swift 213
  • E-mail: gentner@northwestern.edu

Sue Hespos | Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies

Sue Hespos
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Cognitive development
  • Phone: 847-467-1394
  • Office Location: Swift 212
  • E-mail: hespos@northwestern.edu

Sid Horton | Associate Professor

Sid Horton
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Psycholinguistics; Spoken discourse and aging
  • Phone: 847-467-1293
  • Office Location: Swift 217
  • E-mail: whorton@northwestern.edu

Douglas Medin | Professor

Douglas Medin
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Culture and cognition; decision making
  • Phone: 847-467-1660
  • Office Location: Swift 222
  • E-mail: medin@northwestern.edu

Ken Paller | Professor

Ken Paller
  • Program Area(s):  Brain, Behavior and Cognition; Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Human memory; awareness; memory disorders
  • Phone: 847-467-3370
  • Office Location: Cresap 210
  • E-mail: kap@northwestern.edu

David Rapp | Associate Professor

David Rapp
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Reading comprehension; learning and memory
  • Phone: 847-467-1871
  • Office Location: Annenberg 220
  • E-mail: rapp@northwestern.edu

Paul Reber | Professor; Director of Brain, Behavior, & Cognition

Paul Reber
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive; Brain, Behavior and Cognition
  • Interest(s): Learning & memory systems of the brain; fMRI
  • Phone: 847-467-1624
  • Office Location: Cresap 308
  • E-mail: preber@northwestern.edu

Lance Rips | Professor

Lance Rips
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Reasoning, concepts, math, and memory
  • Phone: 847-491-5947
  • Office Location: Swift 314
  • E-mail: rips@northwestern.edu

Karl Rosengren | Professor; Director of Undergraduate Studies

Karl Rosengren
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Cognitive and motor development
  • Phone: 847-467-3880
  • Office Location: Swift 243
  • E-mail: k-rosengren@northwestern.edu

Satoru Suzuki | Professor

Satoru Suzuki
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive; Brain, Behavior and Cognition
  • Interest(s): Vision; cross-modal interactions; awareness
  • Phone: 847-467-1271
  • Office Location: Cresap 303
  • E-mail: satoru@northwestern.edu

David Uttal | Professor; Director of Cognitive Psychology

David Uttal
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Cognitive development; space; symbols
  • Phone: 847-467-1925
  • Office Location: Swift 303A
  • E-mail: duttal@northwestern.edu

Sandra Waxman | Professor

Sandra Waxman
  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Interest(s): Language and conceptual development in infants and children; Cognitive development across languages and cultures
  • Phone: 847-467-2293
  • Office Location: Swift 212
  • E-mail: s-waxman@northwestern.edu