Skip to main content

Core Faculty

Jump to Last Name:

Michael Bailey

Michael Bailey

Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Personality, Development and Health; Clinical
  • Research Interest(s): Sexual orientation and evolutionary psychology
    Phone number: 847-491-7429
    Office Location: Swift 303B
    jm-bailey@northwestern.edu

    Mark Beeman

    Mark Beeman

    Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive; Brain, Behavior and Cognition
  • Research Interest(s): Brain bases of language; creative thinking
    Phone number: 847-491-4617
    Office Location: Cresap 104
    mbeeman@northwestern.edu

    Sara Broaders

    Sara Broaders

    Director of Undergraduate Studies; Professor of Instruction

    Research Interest(s): Gesture in cognition and communication
    Phone number: 847-491-3652
    Office Location: Swift 242
    s-broaders@northwestern.edu

    Edith Chen

    Edith Chen

    Professor; Director of Graduate Studies

  • Program Area(s):  Personality, Development and Health
  • Research Interest(s): Health psychology; socioeconomic status and health
    Phone number: 847-467-0366
    Office Location: Swift 104A
    edith.chen@northwestern.edu

    Mesmin Destin

    Mesmin Destin

    Associate Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Social
  • Research Interest(s): Socioeconomic status; educational motivation
    Phone number: 847-467-2824
    Office Location: Annenberg 203
    m-destin@northwestern.edu

    Alice Eagly

    Alice Eagly

    Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Social
  • Research Interest(s): Gender, leadership, stereotyping; attitudes
    Phone number: 847-467-5026
    Office Location: Swift 313
    eagly@northwestern.edu

    Eli Finkel

    Eli Finkel

    Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Social
  • Research Interest(s): (1) Interpersonal attraction, (2) goals and relationships, (3) marriage, and (4) conflict resolution
    Phone number: 847-491-3212
    Office Location: Swift 116
    finkel@northwestern.edu

    Steven Franconeri

    Steven Franconeri

    Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Research Interest(s): Visual Cognition; Data Visualization; Visuospatial Thinking in STEM (Science, Technology, Education, & Math); Graph Comprehension; Visual Communication; Effective communication of analyses and evidence.
    Phone number: 847-467-1259
    Office Location: Swift 317
    franconeri@northwestern.edu

    Wendi Gardner

    Wendi Gardner

    Associate Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Social
  • Research Interest(s): The social self; belonging; emotion
    Phone number: 847-491-4972
    Office Location: Swift 203
    wgardner@northwestern.edu

    Dedre Gentner

    Dedre Gentner

    Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Research Interest(s): Language, cognition, space, & learning
    Phone number: 847-467-1272
    Office Location: Swift 213
    gentner@northwestern.edu

    Benjamin Gorvine

    Benjamin Gorvine

    Associate Professor of Instruction; Assistant Chair; Lead Adviser

    Research Interest(s): Pedagogy practices for psychology and statistics; fathers; children’s social development
    Phone number: 847-467-1839
    Office Location: Swift 306
    b-gorvine@northwestern.edu

    Marcia Grabowecky

    Marcia Grabowecky

    Research Associate Professor; Director of Brain, Behavior, & Cognition

  • Program Area(s):  Brain, Behavior and Cognition
  • Research Interest(s): Visual perception and attention
    Phone number: 847-467-3044
    Office Location: Cresap 306
    grabowecky@northwestern.edu

    Susan Hespos

    Susan Hespos

    Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Research Interest(s): Cognitive development, learning, language and concepts
    Phone number: 847-467-1394
    Office Location: Swift 212
    hespos@northwestern.edu

    Sid Horton

    Sid Horton

    Associate Professor; Director of Cognitive Psychology

  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Research Interest(s): Psycholinguistics; Spoken discourse and aging
    Phone number: 847-467-1293
    Office Location: Swift 217
    whorton@northwestern.edu

    Alissa Levy Chung

    Alissa Levy Chung

    Associate Professor of Instruction

    Research Interest(s): Intergenerational transmission of parenting; the role of early experience in the development of psychopathology
    Phone number: 847-491-5190
    Office Location: Swift 122
    alissa.chung@northwestern.edu

    Dan McAdams

    Dan McAdams

    Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Clinical; Personality, Development and Health
  • Research Interest(s): Adult personality, life stories, culture
    Phone number: 847-491-4174
    Office Location: Annenberg 209
    dmca@northwestern.edu

    Douglas Medin

    Douglas Medin

    Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Research Interest(s): Culture and cognition; decision making
    Phone number: 847-467-1660
    Office Location: Swift 222
    medin@northwestern.edu

    Greg Miller

    Greg Miller

    Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Personality, Development and Health
  • Research Interest(s): Health psychology; mechanisms linking stress and health
    Phone number: 847-467-5755
    Office Location: Swift 104B
    greg.miller@northwestern.edu

    Susan Mineka

    Susan Mineka

    Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Clinical
  • Research Interest(s): The origins of anxiety and mood disorders
    Phone number: 847-491-7711
    Office Location: Swift 316
    mineka@northwestern.edu

    Vijay Mittal

    Vijay Mittal

    Associate Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Clinical
  • Research Interest(s): Schizophrenia; prodrome; early psychosis; adolescence; brain and hormone development; motor function; emotion; cognition
    Phone number: 847-467-3880
    Office Location: Swift 242
    vijay.mittal@northwestern.edu

    Daniel Molden

    Daniel Molden

    Associate Professor; Director of Social Psychology

  • Program Area(s):  Social
  • Research Interest(s): The role of motivation in social cognition
    Phone number: 847-491-7710
    Office Location: Swift 202
    molden@northwestern.edu

    Dan Mroczek

    Dan Mroczek

    Professor; Director of Personality and Health

  • Program Area(s):  Clinical; Personality, Development and Health
  • Research Interest(s): Lifespan personality development; influence of pesonality
    Phone number: 847-467-0915
    Office Location: Hogan 2123
    daniel.mroczek@northwestern.edu

    Robin Nusslock

    Robin Nusslock

    Associate Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Clinical; Brain, Behavior and Cognition
  • Research Interest(s): Affective & clinical neuroscience; mood and anxiety disorders
    Phone number: 847-467-4148
    Office Location: Swift 301
    nusslock@northwestern.edu

    Ken Paller

    Ken Paller

    Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive; Brain, Behavior and Cognition
  • Research Interest(s): Human memory; awareness; memory disorders
    Phone number: 847-467-3370
    Office Location: Cresap 210
    kap@northwestern.edu

    Sylvia Perry

    Sylvia Perry

    Assistant Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Social; Personality, Development and Health
  • Research Interest(s): Stereotyping and prejudice; intergroup relations; social cognition
    Office Location: Swift 227
    sylvia.perry@northwestern.edu

    David Rapp

    David Rapp

    Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Research Interest(s): Reading comprehension; learning and memory
    Phone number: 847-467-1871
    Office Location: Annenberg 220
    rapp@northwestern.edu

    Paul Reber

    Paul Reber

    Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive; Brain, Behavior and Cognition
  • Research Interest(s): Learning & memory systems of the brain; fMRI
    Phone number: 847-467-1624
    Office Location: Cresap 308
    preber@northwestern.edu

    William Revelle

    William Revelle

    Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Clinical; Personality, Development and Health
  • Research Interest(s): Personality measurement, theory and research
    Phone number: 847-491-7700
    Office Location: Swift 315
    revelle@northwestern.edu

    Lance Rips

    Lance Rips

    Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Research Interest(s): Reasoning, concepts, math, and memory
    Phone number: 847-491-5947
    Office Location: Swift 314
    rips@northwestern.edu

    Onnie Rogers

    Onnie Rogers

    Assistant Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Social; Personality, Development and Health
  • Research Interest(s): Identity; child and adolescent development; race/ethnicity and gender stereotypes
    Office Location: Swift 226
    onnie.rogers@northwestern.edu

    Peter Rosenfeld

    Peter Rosenfeld

    Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Brain, Behavior and Cognition
  • Research Interest(s): Applied cognitive psychophysiology, deception, detection of concealed memory and information, memory suppression
    Phone number: 847-491-3629
    Office Location: Cresap 206
    jp-rosenfeld@northwestern.edu

    David Smith

    David Smith

    Distinguished Senior Lecturer

    Research Interest(s): Assessment and evaluation; decision making
    Phone number: 847-491-4669
    Office Location: Swift 303C
    hdsmith@northwestern.edu

    Satoru Suzuki

    Satoru Suzuki

    Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Brain, Behavior and Cognition; Cognitive
  • Research Interest(s): Vision; cross-modal interactions; awareness
    Phone number: 847-467-1271
    Office Location: Cresap 303
    satoru@northwestern.edu

    Jennifer Tackett

    Jennifer Tackett

    Associate Professor; Director of Clinical Psychology

  • Program Area(s):  Clinical; Personality, Development and Health
  • Research Interest(s): Externalizing and disinhibitory psychopathology in youth; genetic and hormonal influences on externalizing problems; youth personality; gender and racial/ethnic disparities in externalizing problems
    Phone number: 847-467-3313
    Office Location: Swift 312
    jennifer.tackett@northwestern.edu

    David Uttal

    David Uttal

    Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Research Interest(s): Cognitive development; space; symbols
    Phone number: 847-467-1925
    Office Location: Swift 303A
    duttal@northwestern.edu

    Sandra Waxman

    Sandra Waxman

    Professor

  • Program Area(s):  Cognitive
  • Research Interest(s): Language and conceptual development in infants and children; Cognitive development across languages and cultures
    Phone number: 847-467-2293
    Office Location: Swift 211
    s-waxman@northwestern.edu

    Richard Zinbarg

    Richard Zinbarg

    Professor; Department Chair

  • Program Area(s):  Clinical; Personality, Development and Health
  • Research Interest(s): Anxiety and its treatment; measurement theory
    Phone number: 847-467-2290
    Office Location: Swift 302
    rzinbarg@northwestern.edu

    Back to top